Skip to main content


Index: La forma de la espada, Ficciones, OC,Obras completas. Buenos Aires: Emecé, 1974. 492.

Connacht, four county region in western Ireland that includes the cities of Galway and Sligo

Fishburn and Hughes: "A province in the west of Ireland which includes the five counties of Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon and Sligo. Connaught was an ancient kingdom which, as told in the Irish epics (see Celtic literature), was for long at war with the kingdom of Ulster. In June 1920 it was the scene of a rebellion against the Black and Tans. Fourteen of the protesters were sentenced to death by court martial, but thirteen were reprieved." (50)